Photo Gallery

View More

News and Events

Run For Fish! ‘Marathon’ to mark ‘World Fisheries Day 2018’

College of Fisheries, Mangaluru in association with Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University-Bidar, as part of “Fishco Golden Jubilee” organized ‘Marathon’ to mark ‘World Fisheries Day’ on Thursday, 22 November 2018 from Nehru Maidan, Mangaluru. The marathon commenced from Nehru Maidan, passed through Hampankatta, Jyothi, Kankanady Pumpwell and culminated at Fisheries College, Souterpet-Mangaluru. 

The Marathon was flagged off by Deputy Commissioner of DK Sasikanth Senthil, in the presence of Dr H Shivananda Murthy- Dean, College of Fisheries; Dr Anjanayappa- coordinator of Marathon; Dr Shivakumar Magada- Professor and Associate Director of Extension, College of fisheries; and the event was compered by Dr Ramachandra Naik- Programme coordinator at Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK). Nearly 250 fisheries college students along with their professors took part in the marathon.

Prior to the flag off, Dr Shivananda Murthy, Dean (Fisheries) briefed about the activities at the College, “The research activities those are undertaken so far as part of our commitment, and the scientific evidence we have generated as a result, are helping us to build a multifaceted picture of the socioeconomic and business case for supporting small-scale fisheries and, in doing so, raising their profile and visibility in the wider discourse of the sustainable development agenda”.

DC Sasikanth Senthil also speaking said, “Mangaluru is a vast coastal region, but not much has been done to improve it. College of Fisheries should take an initiative in developing the fishing industry, and help the fishermen in the latest technology. I am eagerly waiting to visit college of fisheries so we can chalk out a few plans for the betterment of the fishing industry and fishermen”.

After the Marathon ended, the inauguration of Badminton tournament and Swimming competition took place. Winners in the marathon were presented with attractive prizes. 

Boys: Sachin & Vijeth
Girls: Ananya & Arpitha

Staff Men: 
1st Place - Mr. Premnath
2nd Place - Mr. Rakesh B.

Staff Women
1st Place - Ms. Swathi
2nd Place - Ms. Shobha



Press release

Mangalorean .com